Skip Navigation
Sebago Maine Town Seal
This table is used for column layout.
Board of Selectmen Minutes 08/01/2006
I       Call to Order
        The meeting was called to order by Chairman, Allen Crabtree at 7:00 P.M.        
II      Roll Call
        Present were Selectman; Allen Crabtree, Maureen Harriman, Jeff Harriman, Bob Irish Jr., Dave McCarthy, Town Manager; David Hague, and Recorder Nancy LaPointe.  Guests present were: Fire Chief; Kenneth Littlefield, Rescue Chief; Lauis Champagne, Code Enforcement Officer; Robert Sharkey, Don Olden, Don Allen, Donelle Allen, James MacDonald, Anthony Schwieterman, Bruce Hart, Lisa Sleeper, Michael Cain, John Puopolo, and Mike Corrigan of the Bridgton News.        
III     Adjustments to the Agenda

IV      Reports from Town Officials & Committees

A.      Town Manager
See attached

B.      Selectmen
Jeff Harriman requested that all Selectman’s correspondence be placed in his mailbox at Town Office.

David McCarthy made a motion to appoint Greg Smith to Board of Appeals for the Standard term of office. It was seconded by Jeff Harriman. Motion carried.

C.      Department Heads

David Hague introduced the new Public Works Director, Richard Aube. Dick explained his objectives for the coming year.

Fire Chief, Kenneth Littlefield and Rescue Chief, Lauris Champagne explain the benefits of having employee identification cards.

Fire Chief, Kenneth Littlefield is researching a location for a fire hydrant in the Anderson Road area.

Rescue Chief: Lauris Champagne, said the turbo in rescue truck is fixed and running good.

Code Enforcement Officer; Robert Sharkey, discussed  water being tested for bacteria at Quest Ave. Beach.

The Board would like to discuss guidelines for closing beaches, or warnings on the next agenda.

Pole Permit Application was presented Project#1000017773 Dave McCarthy made motion to approve. It was seconded by Bob Irish Jr. Motion was passed.

D.      Committees

V       Next Board of Selectmen’s Meeting is scheduled for:  August 15, 2006 at 7:00 P.M.

VI      Comments from the Public
                        Questions on the maintenance of Folly Road
VII     Written Communication
A.      Approval of the July 18, 2006 Selectmen’s Meeting Minutes
Jeff Harriman made a motion to approve July 18, 2006 Selectmen’s Meeting Minutes.  It was seconded by Bob Irish, Jr.  Motion carried.

B.      Approval of Warrants #3 & # 4
Bob Irish Jr., made a motion to approve Warrants #3 & 4. It was seconded by Jeff Harriman. Motion carried.

VIII    Old Business
IX      New Business
                A.      Discussion of Contracting a Cumberland County Sheriff for Law Enforcement
                        Bob Irish made a motion for discussion; It was seconded by Jeff Harriman.  David
        Hague explained the proposal from Cumberland County.  Selectmen feel law enforcement is necessary, but still have questions. Allen asked selectmen to research and bring up for discussion next meeting.

                B.      Discussion of Proposals for the Portable Buildings at Sebago Elementary. Bob Irish
                        made a motion to discuss. It was seconded by Jeff Harriman. Four committees were        
        interested in the buildings.  After much discussion. Dave McCarthy made a motion schedule a meeting on August 3, 2006 at the Sebago Elementary School.
                        It was seconded by Jeff Harriman.  Motion carried.

                C.      Discussion of the proposed Harbor Master Ordinance. Dave McCarthy made a
                        motion to discuss. It was seconded by Bob Irish Jr., It was decided that a Harbor
        Master Committee would be formed,   Members are Bob Irish Jr., David Hague, Robert Sharkey and Bruce Hart.                      
Motion was made by Bob Irish, Jr.; It was seconded by David McCarthy. Motion

X       Adjournment     Bob Irish Jr., made a motion to adjourn at 9:49 p.m. It was seconded by Jeff
                        Harriman.  Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted,

Nancy LaPointe
Deputy Town Clerk