Skip Navigation
Sebago Maine Town Seal
This table is used for column layout.
2003/06/07 Excerpt from Town Meeting minutes
Town of Sebago
State of Maine
Town Meeting Minutes
June 7, 2003

At 9:00 a.m. Town Clerk, Michele Bukoveckas, called the meeting to order and asked the public to stand and recite the Pledge of Allegiance. Present were: Selectmen, Ruth Douglas, George Tinkham, and Robert Irish Jr.; Town Manager, Rosemary Kulow; and Budget Committee Members, Alan Crabtree, Jan Wilk, Anne McMahon, and David Hague. Approximately 89 townspeople attended. The minutes are as follows:

Art. 1. To choose a Moderator to preside at said meeting.
Ruth Douglas made a motion to nominate Alan Munroe. It was seconded by Bob Irish Jr. There being no other nominations, written ballots were cast in favor of Alan Munroe, and Alan Munroe was sworn in as Moderator for the meeting.
Art. 65. To see if the Town will authorize and direct the Board of Selectmen to proceed with the process to bond up to $172,000 to pay for building an addition to Fire Station 1 in Center Sebago. No funds would be expended in fiscal year 2003-2004; the first bond payment would be due in fiscal year 2004-2005.
David Hague made a motion to accept the article as read. It was seconded by Jan Wilk. George made a motion to table this article. It was seconded by Ruth. Ted Greene stated that although the motion to table is not debatable, it is amendable, therefore he amended the motion to have the Town form a committee comprised of the Fire Chief, 1 Fire Fighter, 1 Budget Committee Member, 1 Selectperson, 1 citizen at large and the Town Manager to study the need and location for a new fire station or addition and report back at the next annual town meeting in a form to be voted on at that time. It was seconded by Ruth Douglas. Members of the public felt it was a good compromise. Some thought the list should be limited to 1 fire fighter to better balance the committee, while others felt it was already well balanced. There being no further discussion, Ted Greene's motion to amend was voted on and carried. The main motion to table as amended carried.