Skip Navigation
Sebago Maine Town Seal
This table is used for column layout.
School Board Minutes 07/14/2010

July 14, 2010

There was a Special Board meeting on Wednesday, July 14, 2010 at 7:00 p.m. in the Conference Room at the Central Office.


Wayne Warner, Sr., Chairperson, called the meeting to order at 7:05 p.m.  Board members present were:  Janice Barter, Kenneth Brown, Beth Chaplin,   Jean Clancy, Jody Gray, Richard Merritt, Laurie Mondville, Lesley Niemy,  Laura Ordway, Karla Swanson-Murphy, and Patrick Phillips, Superintendent     of Schools.

Representatives from PDT Architects were also present.


A motion was made by Richard Merritt, seconded by Kenneth Brown, to approve the agenda as presented.  Motion carried unanimously.


Award of the Construction Bid for the Educational Services Building

A motion was made by Janice Barter, seconded by Beth Chaplin, to award the construction contract to Littlefield Brothers with Alternates 3, 5, 7, and 12 for a total amount of $4,175,500.

There was a discussion on the motion.  

There were three low bidders, however, after reviewing the alternates,
Littlefield Brothers was recommended as the low bidder.

Superintendent Phillips thanked PDT Architects for their hard work and comprehensive data provided on the bid research.

A question was asked as to why the Board could not hold off awarding all of the alternates if they can hold off on awarding the fueling station?  It was explained that there is also contingency money available.  Some alternates would be more expensive to do once the building is constructed.

A question was asked if the Board had to take the low bidder if a local contractor had a higher bid?  It was confirmed that the Board is obligated to take the lowest bid.  

Mr. Madura explained that all local contractors were aware of all the documents.  There was only one local contractor bid.  The General Contractor who is awarded the contract can still use local vendors for other areas outside of mechanical, electrical and site work.

Vote on the Motion:  9-Yes, 0-No.  Motion carried unanimously.

Marilyn from PDT Architects mentioned that the DEP Permit should be available by next Friday.

Special Meeting                 July 14, 2010                        Page 2


A motion was made by Janice Barter, seconded by Karla Swanson-Murphy, to approve the appointment of Jason Manjourides as Assistant Principal at Songo Locks School.  

Superintendent Phillips explained the interview process.

Motion carried unanimously.

A motion was made by Janice Barter, seconded by Karla Swanson-Murphy, to approve the appointment of Linda Anderton as Principal’s Secretary at Lake Region High School, replacing Debora Kutasi who has resigned.  Motion carried unanimously.


A motion was made by Karla Swanson-Murphy, seconded by Richard Merritt, to adjourn.  The motion carried unanimously.

The meeting adjourned at 7:30 p.m.


                                                                            Date Approved